Government of Sri Lanka

The Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka features an Executive Presidency that is based on the French system. The title of the Head of State is known as the Executive which is held by a President that is elected for a period of 6 years and can be reelected for a second term.

The country has a government that is currently held by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party. After the 2005 elections, the Honourable President Mahinda Rajapksa was appointed as chief of state while Honourable Ratnasiri Wickremanayake was named Prime Minister.

Sri Lanka also has a unicameral national legislature which features a parliament with 225 seats whose members are elected by a vote from a list on a popular vote basis.

Under an amendment made to the constitution, 9 directly elected provincial councils were given extensive authority which was designed to give more authority to minorities in the country.

The country’s legal system follows a mixture of English Common Law, Roman Dutch Law in addition to Kandyan and Jaffna Tamil Law.  The Judiciary is elected by the president while the two most important courts in the country are the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals.

More information regarding the Government can be found here:

Bookmark and Share
© 2008 All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy